prestigehoogl.blogg.se

Vocab quiz
Vocab quiz








I suppose you could write the three words on the board or project them as you give the quiz, but I haven’t needed to take those steps. For a student with an IEP that requires written rather than oral instructions, I’ll handwrite the three words on an index card before class and quietly slide the card to the kid when the quiz begins. Instead, students use a half-sheet of binder or scrap paper to record their answers. I mean, each quiz is only three questions long, so I’m almost always able to score and enter them in the grade book before students are done with their SSR session. This three-question method is no prep and pretty much impossible to cheat on because I choose different words for each of my classes on the spot as I’m giving the quiz. Here’s the latest one with me talking about this same idea: You may have noticed that this year I’m trying to make more videos to share my ideas on YouTube. The definition, synonym, and antonym don’t have to be precisely the same words that we used in class to discuss our Words on Wednesday bell-ringer slides. I say a third word and students write an accurate antonym. I give a different word and students write an accurate synonym.ģ. word and have students write the word’s definition.Ģ. The next year, I tossed the above quiz format altogether and came up with an easy to prep, easy to grade, cheat-proof vocabulary quiz, one I’ve used now for about a decade.

vocab quiz

I had better things to do with my Sunday afternoons. Nearly a third of my 5th period used some combination of 2nd period’s answers, forcing me to realize I’d been terribly naive.įor awhile, I tried to stay ahead of the cheaters by writing separate quizzes for each of my five classes, but I quickly grew weary. The kicker, though, is that Danny wasn’t the only one. Sure enough, Danny wrote the morning class’ answers in the exact order on his paper, earning a zero and my disdain. quiz, I wrote two different versions with the same word bank. He (“Danny” seems right) always bested Sandy’s score. quizzes but often missed one or two questions. She, let’s call her Sandy, did well on my vocab.

vocab quiz

She was in my 2nd period he was in 5th, right after lunch.Ī few months into the year, I noticed something peculiar. Together, they were the golden couple of the freshman class. He was handsome and charming but not so smart.










Vocab quiz